Know the Relation Between Maltodextrin and Gluten

If you follow a gluten-free diet, you might be concerned with maltodextrin because the word "malt" appears in the name. Because malt is manufactured from barley, it contains gluten. Maltodextrin, on the other hand, is gluten-free even when manufactured from wheat. According to the gluten-free advocacy organisation Beyond Celiac, the processing that wheat starches go through in the production of maltodextrin makes it gluten-free.

You can still drink maltodextrin if you have celiac disease or follow a gluten-free diet. Maltodextrin should be avoided if you are trying to reduce weight. It's essentially a sweetener and a carbohydrate with no nutritional value, and it raises blood sugar levels. Maltodextrin's sugar content might cause weight gain.

Explore More-